Homemade Chèvre

June is still in her infancy, but it’s staying late until just about ten and the sea has warmed enough to allow one to dive in, rather than gingerly toe. The warmer days find my body craving cool, simpler foods. Big slices of watermelon, strawberries and homemade sun tea are weaving themselves into my day, along with green salads and fresh seafood. Grilled cheese sandwiches are beginning to fade into the distance (only temporarily, have no fear) as lighter cheeses find themselves upon my plate. It was the perfect time to stumble upon this simple recipe for homemade chèvre from Analida’s Ethnic Spoon. In general I don’t stick to recipes word for word, though for the most part I did with this one because it is so easy and I had all the ingredients at hand. This was my first time making goat cheese at home and I am thrilled with the result. Smooth, with an pleasant tang. I added herbs and garlic which I somewhat regretted after. The taste is so lovely just on its own I would suggest adding only one or two fresh ingredients. I think it would be fun to try with blueberries, figs, lavender or even a bit of chocolate. The possibilities truly are endless…..IMG_4202

Ingredients

1 quart goat milk

2 lemons, juice only (fresh squeezed)

1 oz. (2 tbsp) white vinegar

1/2 tsp salt

Things you will need

Colander

Cheesecloth

Heavy bottom sauce pan

Instructions

Line a colander with two or three layers of cheesecloth.

In a heavy bottom sauce pan heat the goat milk until it reaches 180’F. Stir frequently to ensure that you have even heat throughout.

Remove from heat; add the lemon juice, and stir a couple of times until combined.

Add the vinegar, stir briefly until combined and allow it to sit for about 10 minutes.

Slowly pour this mixture into the cheesecloth (I highly recommend doing this over the sink). Add the salt and stir lightly.
Gather the ends of the cheesecloth, and tie them with kitchen string or knot together (as in photo). Tie to your faucet.
Leave it to hang and drip for about 1 hour.

Sprinkle with died herbs of your choice.

Refrigerate and serve when set.

IMG_4206The finished product is a wonderful, light cheese that I enjoyed with rye bread and a side of olives. And, of course, a cold glass of white wine. I’m looking forward to enjoying this delight throughout the summer and hope that you will as well.

 

 

Leave a Reply

