The Ultimate Fish Taco

I miss Southern California with a depth I can’t describe. The quality of the light, the feeling of driving north on the 101, and, perhaps most of all, fish tacos. I realized a couple of weeks ago it had been nearly a year and a half since I had enjoyed one of these so this past weekend I got chopping and grilling and I was really pleased with the result. They were light and healthy, without breaded fish or calorie rich condiments.

I’m putting a rough recipe for the two types of salsa I made below. I did no measurements for either, but rather went by smell and intuition. I couldn’t find jalapeños here in the village where I live, so neither was very spicy. For the sake of this post I’ve added them to both recipes. For the tacos I grilled a nice white fish with just a touch of coconut oil, put a base of purple cabbage, homemade guacamole, the two kinds of salsa, a touch of hot sauce and some fresh cilantro on top. These were good with corn tortillas but I think any type would work so you can easily adjust that to fit your needs. Enjoy!

IMG_4727.jpgFresh Tomato Salsa

I chopped/diced all the ingredients. I like chunky salsas so I cut accordingly. When you’ve all the ingredients cut up, simply mix together. I suggest letting it sit in the fridge for an hour or so before serving.

Ingredients

4-5 large, ripe tomatoes

1 yellow onion

1/2 red bell pepper

1/2 green bell pepper

Juice of 2 limes

1/2 teaspoon pink sea salt

Fresh cilantro and jalapeños peppers (to your desired taste)

 

Mango Salsa

Instructions – same as above.

Ingredients

1 large, ripe tomatoes

1/2 purple onion

1/2 red bell pepper

1/2 green bell pepper

Juice of 1 lime

1/4 teaspoon pink sea salt

Fresh cilantro and jalapeños peppers (to your desired taste)

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

